Guggenheim Museum Exhibitions The Collection Education Museum Store Membership Visit Us Search
Hugo Boss Prize 2004

On the evening of November 9 at a reception at the Guggenheim Museum, Thomas Krens, Director, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, and Dr. Bruno S”lzer, Chairman and CEO, HUGO BOSS AG, will announce the winner of the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2004. Established in 1996 to recognize significant achievement in contemporary art, the HUGO BOSS PRIZE is a biennial award administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and presided over by an international jury of museum curators and directors.

The extraordinary finalists for this year's prize include:

Franz Ackermann (Germany)

Rivane Neuenschwander (Brazil)

Jeroen de Rijke and Willem de Rooij (Netherlands)

Simon Starling (UK)

Rirkrit Tiravanija (US and Thailand)

Yang Fudong (China)

The prize carries with it an award of $50,000. Additionally, an exhibition of the artist's work will be on view at the Guggenheim Museum during the winter and spring of 2005.